British Florida


Laessle, Albert M.


This map was drawn by Laessle and published in Florida Under Five Flags by Rambert W. Patrick and Allen Morris by Univ. of Florida Press Gainesville, 1945-47. It shows the northern and western boundary of Florida as established by the Proclamation of 1763. These borders of West Florida were altered various times as we will see on other maps. Also the territory was divided into East Florida and West Florida. The capital of East Florida was St. Augustine and the capital of West Florida was Pensacola. They were separate royal colonies and behaved differently. However, the agricultural output of the areas improved under the British rule and Florida became a major supplier of orange and indigo and the English established peace with the local Indian populations.


Coverage Time: